Title
#fleet
m

Mike Tonks

10/16/2021, 2:18 PM
Hi, trying to run the preview:
cd preview/osquery
ENROLL_SECRET=***** FLEET_SERVER=172.17.42.1:8412 docker-compose up -d
Fails to connect to the server:
I1016 14:15:29.949494  1232 smbios_tables.cpp:252] Could not read SMBIOS memory
I1016 14:15:29.952227  1232 tls.cpp:254] TLS/HTTPS POST request to URI: <https://172.17.42.1:8412/api/v1/osquery/enroll>
W1016 14:15:29.973161  1232 tls_enroll.cpp:77] Failed enrollment request to <https://172.17.42.1:8412/api/v1/osquery/enroll> (Request error: certificate verify failed) retrying...
2:20 PM
UI is working on https://172.17.42.1:8412/hosts/manage with certificate warning, and I have
fleet.crt
which matches the one from the 'New Host' screen - I assume this is just the one shipped with the preview code.
2:28 PM
Using localhost instead of bridge ip I get
Request error: Failed to connect to localhost:8412: Cannot assign requested address) retrying...
3:38 PM
I got it working in the end with some awful network hackery. I think the problem is the docker-compose network layer didn't assign localhost to point to the fleet server for some reason.
zwass

zwass

10/16/2021, 6:31 PM
Did you try
fleetctl preview
? That should automatically set everything up properly.
m

Mike Tonks

10/18/2021, 8:14 AM
Hi Zwass, yes tried that but received an error:
sudo fleetctl preview
Downloading dependencies into /root/.fleet/preview...
Pulling Docker dependencies...
/usr/local/lib/python3.8/dist-packages/requests/__init__.py:78: RequestsDependencyWarning: urllib3 (1.23) or chardet (3.0.4) doesn't match a supported version!
  warnings.warn("urllib3 ({0}) or chardet ({1}) doesn't match a supported "
Invalid interpolation format for "fleet01" option in service "services": "fleetdm/fleet:${FLEET_VERSION:-latest}"

Failed to run docker-compose
8:19 AM
docker-compose --version
docker-compose version 1.29.2, build unknown
8:19 AM
compose works fine, unsure about the urllib warning
Tomas Touceda

Tomas Touceda

10/18/2021, 11:01 AM
hi there, I believe that happens because of a version incompatibility. If you install docker from https://docs.docker.com/engine/install/ instead, it should work
m

Mike Tonks

10/19/2021, 8:32 AM
Thanks 👍