Title
#fleet
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 9:02 PM
Hi, all! I’m trying to get the fleet preview to run on Win10 but fleetctl isn’t being installed by npm; are there updated install instructions? Thx!
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 9:04 PM
Hi, @Joe B! What's happening when you try?
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 9:05 PM
C:\WINDOWS\system32>npm install -g fleetctl npm WARN config global
--global
,
--local
are deprecated. Use
--location=global
instead. npm WARN config global
--global
,
--local
are deprecated. Use
--location=global
instead. added 22 packages, and audited 23 packages in 2s 3 packages are looking for funding run
npm fund
for details found 0 vulnerabilities npm notice npm notice New minor version of npm available! 8.11.0 -> 8.16.0 npm notice Changelog: https://github.com/npm/cli/releases/tag/v8.16.0 npm notice Run npm install -g npm@8.16.0 to update! npm notice C:\WINDOWS\system32>fleetctl preview ‘fleetctl’ is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 9:08 PM
Have you run globally installed npm packages before? It could just be that your PATH needs to be updated.
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 9:09 PM
ahh, prob that’s it. where does it put packages in Win10?
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 9:09 PM
Checking.
9:13 PM
npm root -g
should output the install location for you.
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 9:14 PM
ahh, great! every time I use -g, it complains that that is deprecated and to use --location=global instead
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 9:15 PM
I always find it hilarious given the update instructions npm gives.
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 9:16 PM
haha
9:16 PM
Thx for your help! I’ll update my path
9:16 PM
🙂
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 9:17 PM
Happy to help! Have fun with it, and don't hesitate to reach out if you have questions or that doesn't do the trick.
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 9:20 PM
🖖
10:39 PM
OK, I’ve got docker working and have run fleetctl preview and see it in docker, but opening 127.0.0.1:1337 doesn’t work. Docker says “redis01_1 | 1:M 09 Aug 2022 22:26:45.174 * Running mode=standalone, port=6379.”
10:39 PM
I’ve tried 127.0.0.1:6379 as well but no love
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 10:51 PM
When you ran the preview commands, were there any errors? Does Docker show the fleet service running as well?
10:51 PM
Container, sorry.
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 11:22 PM
No errors, yes it shows running
11:22 PM
that’s where I got that log line from
11:23 PM
I’ve scheduled a fleet demo for tomorrow, so it’s not super important that I get this going, but it’s too bad that it’s so tough to have a preview of Fleet…. 😉
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 11:30 PM
It definitely shouldn't be! It generally runs pretty smoothly, but there are definitely a lot of moving pieces. There should be several Docker containers running for Fleet, Redis, MySQL and preview hosts.
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 11:32 PM
Ahh, only one gets launched
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 11:34 PM
Odd. Any errors when running preview?
11:34 PM
I'd be happy to jump on a quick Zoom call if you'd like… I know it's nice to have time to poke about yourself before demos 😃
j

Joe B

08/09/2022, 11:42 PM
nah, it’s ok but thank you so much! 🙂
Kathy Satterlee

Kathy Satterlee

08/09/2022, 11:57 PM
No problem!